New Zealand name U-19 squad for Bangladesh series

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:00, Sep 21,2019


New Zealand Cricket on Thursday announced an 18-man Under-19 squad for their five youth one-day international matches against Bangladeshi counterparts, scheduled from September 29 to October 13.

All five games will be played at Bert Sutcliffe Oval in Lincoln.

U19s head coach Paul Wiseman said he, along with assistants Graeme Aldridge and Adam Miles, had a strong talent pool from which to choose, making for an extremely tough selection process.

‘The U-19s programme is very much about development, so we are looking to give as many players as possible a taste of international cricket,’ Wiseman said.

Wiseman also termed the series against Bangladesh ‘important’ as they are preparing themselves for the forthcoming ICC U19 Cricket World Cup, in South Africa next year.

‘The upcoming matches against Bangladesh are an important series and a chance for meaningful, competitive cricket,’ he told in the official website of NZC.

Bangladesh were yet to declare their squad for the series against the Kiwis.

The Junior Tigers recently made their places into two consecutive finals in England and Sri Lanka in a tri-series and Asia Cup respectively but lost against India on both the occasions.

Squad: Conor Ansell, Adithya Ashok, Kristian Clarke, William Clark, Hayden Dickson, Joey Field, David Hancock, Ryan Jackson, Fergus Lellman, Jock McKenzie, Rhys Mariu, Ben Pomare, Tim Pringle, Quinn Sunde, Jesse Tashkoff, Devan Vishvaka, Ollie White and Thomas Zohrab.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email