Khokan, Shyamal elected JCD president, GS

Staff Correspondent | Published: 14:37, Sep 19,2019 | Updated: 00:39, Sep 20,2019


Councillors of Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal, Bangladesh Nationalist Party’s associate body of students, elected Fazlur Rahman Khokon its next president and Iqbal Hossain Shyamol general secretary.

Voting to the polls began at 8:00pm Wednesday and continued till midnight at the residence of BNP Standing Committee member Mirza Abbas in Dhaka’s Shahajahanpur.

After counting ballots, Mirza Abbas announced the election result at 5:00am on Thursday.

Among the 533 councillors, 481 exercised their  voting rights.

Khokon won the presidency bagging 186 votes while his nearest contestant Kazi Rownakul Islam Shrabon got 178 votes. Shyamol bagged 139 votes against his nearest opponent Zakirul Islam’s 76 votes.

The Chhatra Dal councillors decided to hold the election a day after they completed their sixth national council on Tuesday.

There were nine candidates for president post and 19 for the post of general secretary.

The voting was held six days after a Dhaka court on September 12 stayed holding election to Chhatra Dal’s next central committee and issued show cause notice on 10 BNP leaders.

The court stayed the election of new leaders in the sixth council scheduled for September 14, responding to a plea of Chhatra Dal’s dissolved central committee leader Aman Ullah who sought suspension of the council session as he thought unstable situation might be created if the council session took place.

He also alleged that the respondent BNP leaders were interfering in holding the election which was out of their jurisdiction.

He had said the BNP had dissolved the central committee on June 3 and set an age limit for anyone vying for the post of Chhatra Dal central leadership which triggered resentments within the organisation and led to the agitation.

In a sequel to the movement against the BNP’s decision by Chhatra Dal dissidents, the BNP on June 23 expelled 12 senior leaders for their involvement in ‘anti-organisational activities.’

Chhatra Dal’s last committee was formed on October 14, 2014.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email