EC finalises nominations in Rangpur-3 by-election

Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha . Rangpur | Published: 00:58, Sep 12,2019


Two nomination papers of aspirant candidates were cancelled and seven others declared valid after scrutiny by the returning officer for by-poll in Rangpur-3 parliamentary constituency at his office in Rangpur on Wednesday.

‘Nomination papers of two intending candidates were canceled on various reasons,’ said Rangpur Regional Election Officer and Returning Officer for by-poll in Rangpur-3 seat GM Sahatab Uddin at a press conference held at his conference room.

At the same time, he declared seven other submitted nominations papers of intending candidates as valid after scrutiny.

The seven valid candidates are: Awami League nominated candidate Advocate Rezaul Karim Razu, Jatiya Party (JaPa) nominated candidate Rahgir Al Mahi Saad Ershad, BNP-nominated candidate Rita Rahman, independent candidate Hossain Mokbul Shahriar Asif, National People Party leader Shafiul Alam, Muhammad Shahidullah of Gano Front and Tauhidur Rahman Mandal Raju of Khelafat Majlish.

‘The nomination papers submitted by independent candidate and BNP leader Kawser Zaman Babla and Ekramul Haque of Bangladesh Congress were cancelled,’ the Returning Officer said.

The two candidates can file appeal against cancellation of their nomination papers with the Election Commission within next three days after taking certified copies from the Returning Officer, he added.

Earlier, 12 candidates collected nomination papers to vie in the Rangpur-3 by-poll and three of them, including AL leader Abdul Mazid, JaPa leaders SM Fakhr-uz-Zaman Jahangir and SM Yasser did not submit their nominations papers.

‘Nine intending candidates finally submitted their nominations papers and seven of them are now remaining in the fray after cancellation of two nomination papers during scrutiny,’ the Returning Officer added.

The Election Commission announced schedule for the by-poll in the Rangpur parliamentary constituency on September 1 last. ‘The last date of withdrawal of candidature is September 16 next and voting of the by-election will be held on October 5 using Electronic Voting Machines at all polling booths of Rangpur-3 parliamentary constituency,’ he added.

Talking to BSS, the Returning Officer urged all contesting candidates, voters and common people for abiding by election rules and assisting the Election Commission in holding the by-poll in Rangpur-3 seat in a free, fair and transparent manner.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email