Mehedi axed from T20 squad

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:00, Sep 10,2019


Mehedi Hasan

Off-spinner Mehedi Hasan was dropped from the side as the Bangladesh Cricket Board on Monday announced a 13-member squad for the first two matches of the forthcoming Twenty20 tri-series against Afghanistan and Zimbabwe.

Five other players - Ariful Haque, Abu Hider, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain and Abu Jayed – who were part of

Bangladesh’s last three-match Twenty20 series against West Indies in December, were also dropped from the tri-nation squad.

Opener Tamim Iqbal was not also included in the squad as he asked for a break from international cricket.

Rookie pacer Yeasin Arafat and left-arm spinner Taijul Islam were named in the Twenty20 side for the first time while Afif Hossain and Mahedi Hasan returned to the squad after playing against Sri Lanka earlier in 2018.

Chief selector Minhajul Abedin said that they wanted to see some players for future and brought up those changes in the squad.

‘We want to see some players for the next Twenty20 World Cup. We named the side for only first two matches. We will make some changes for remaining matches as well,’ Minhajul said on Monday.

Bangladesh will begin their tri-series campaign against Zimbabwe at Sher-e Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on September 13.

The final of the tournament will take place at the same venue on September 24.



Sakib al Hasan (Capt), Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Sabbir Rahaman, Taijul Islam, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman and Yeasin Arafat.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email