Four SL-bound players to play against Afghan ‘A’ team

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:00, Jul 18,2019


Four players among the 14-member squad for the Sri Lanka one-day international series will compete in the first of the five-match one-day series against Afghanistan ‘A’ for Bangladesh ‘A’ team in Chattogram, a Bangladesh team selector confirmed on Wednesday.

Opener Anamul Haque, middle-order batsman Mohammad Mithun, Sabbir Rahman and pacer Rubel Hossain, who were part of the forthcoming Sri Lanka series, will take part in the game, scheduled to take place at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium on Friday.

‘They are all going to play,’ said national selector Habibul Bashar, who is also the manager of Bangladesh ‘A’ team.

‘Sabbir [Rahman] will come tomorrow [today]. He hasn’t arrived yet as he was on a holiday. He will join the practice session tomorrow [today] morning,’ he added.

Apart from these cricketers – players like Imrul Kayes, Afif Hossain, Farhad Reza and Abu Jayed were also in the squad who will play in the five one-day matches against Afghanistan in Chattogram and BKSP.

The first three one-day matches between the two sides will take place in Chattogram on July 19, 21 and 24 respectively while Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protishtan will host the remaining two matches on July 27 and 29 respectively.

Squad: Anamul Haque, Imrul Kayes, Afif Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Mithun, Farhad Reza, Abu Jayed, Fazle Mahmud, Naim Sheikh, Nazmul Islam, Abu Hider, Mahedi Hasan and Minhajul Abedin Afridi.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email