Seven to receive Shilpakala Padak 2018

Cultural Correspondent | Published: 00:00, Jul 17,2019


Liaquat Ali Lucky, centre, briefs journalists at the press conference. — Abdullah Apu

Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy will honour seven individuals with Shilpakala Padak 2018 for their contributions to numerous fields of art and culture.

The names of Shilpakala Padak 2018 recipients were announced at a press conference held at the Seminar Room of Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy on Tuesday.

The recipients are Sunil Chandra Das (instrumental music), Shukla Sarkar (dance), Alakesh Ghosh (fine arts), Mina Barua (folk culture), M Hamid (theatre), Gaur Gopal Halder (vocal music) and

Jayanta Chattopadhyay (recitation).

Each award recipient will receive Tk 1,00,000, a certificate and a crest.

The recipients were selected for their contributions to fields like vocal music, instrumental music, dance, theatre, fine arts, recitation, photography, jatra, film, cultural organisation, research, and traditional song by a 16-member selection committee comprising BSA director general, its secretary and six directors, seven cultural personalities and one representative from cultural affairs ministry.

President Abdul Hamid will hand over Shilpakala Padak 2018 to the recipients at an awards programme scheduled to be held at National Theatre Hall of Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy tomorrow as the chief guest.

State minister for cultural affairs KM Khalid will be present as special guest while the programme will be presided over by acting secretary of cultural affairs ministry Dr Abu Hena Mostafa Kamal.

Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy director general Liaquat Ali Lucky will deliver the welcome speech at the event.

The awards ceremony will be followed by an acrobatic show performed by BSA acrobatic troupe.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email