Imran, Fazilatun Nessa to take oath today

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:15, Jul 13,2019


President Abdul Hamid has appointed Awami League MP from Sylhet 4 constituency Imran Ahmed as a minister and MP from reserved seats for women Begum Fazilatun Nessa as a state minister.

The Cabinet Division, in a gazette notification signed by cabinet secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam on Thursday, said that their appointment would be effective from their taking oath.

Imran Ahmad is now serving as the status of state minister for expatriates’ welfare and overseas employment while Fazilatun Nesa is the ruling Awami League’s women affairs secretary.

The two newly appointed members of the incumbent cabinet would take oath on Saturday evening, said sources in the Cabinet Division.

It will be the second reshuffle of cabinet since prime minister Sheikh Hasina formed the government on January 7, 2019 for the third consecutive term.

Now, there are 24 ministers, 19 state ministers and three deputy ministers in the cabinet.

Five months after taking office, the prime minister, in a move to reorganise her cabinet on May 19, curtailed the portfolios of two ministers and designated additional responsibilities to two state ministers who were working as deputies to the ministers at their respective ministries.

The portfolio of the state minister for health and family welfare was also changed at that time.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email