Wins for Abahani, Muktijoddha, Brothers

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:00, Jul 12,2019


Defending champions Dhaka Abahani Limited beat Sheikh Russell Krira Chakra by a solitary goal in their Bangladesh Premier League match at the Bangabandhu National Stadium on Thursday.

In another match at the same venue, Brothers Union defeated NoFel Sporting Club 2-1 goals.

For Abahani, forward Nabib Newaz Jiban scored the all-important goal in the 59th minute with a left-footed drive from inside the box.

In the other match, midfielder Mannaf Rabby gave Brothers the lead in the 19th minute before NoFel midfielder Jamir Uddin levelled the margin in the 50th minute.

Brothers Sudanese forward James Moga sealed the win by scoring in the 80th minute.

At Noakhali, Muktijoddha Sangsad Krira Chakra defeated Team BJMC by 1-0 goal with Japanese forward Yusuke Kato scoring the winner in the 82nd minute.

The day’s other match between league leaders Bashundhara Kings and Arambagh Krira Sangha was postponed after just eight minutes of play due to persistent rain in Mymensingh.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email