JCD expells 12 leaders, council session July 15

Staff Correspondent | Published: 17:22, Jun 23,2019 | Updated: 00:58, Jun 24,2019


BNP leader Shamsuzzaman Dudu speaks at a press conference at the party’s Naya Paltan office in Dhaka on Sunday. — New Age photo

Bangladesh Nationalist Party on Sunday announced that the national council session of Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal would be held on July 15 where president and general secretary of its next central committee would be elected through direct ballots.

Chhatra Dal election conducting committee convener and BNP joint secretary general Khairul Kabir Khokon made the announcement at a press conference at BNP central office in the afternoon.

Khairul announced that draft voters’ list for July 15 JCD council session would be published on June 24, objections about the list would be taken on June 25, final voters’ list would be published on June 26, nomination forms would distributed on June 27 and June 28, nomination forms from the candidates would be collected on June 29 and June 30.

Scrutiny of the candidates’ forms between would be held on July 1 and July 3, draft candidates’ lists would be published on July 4, objections about the candidates would be received on July 5, final list of candidates would published on July 7 and the election would be held on July 15, announced Khairul.

He said the candidates would be allowed to continue campaign until July 13 midnight.

BNP vice-chairman Shamsuzzaman Dudu at the press conference said that the next leaders of JCD would be elected through direct votes to establish students’ leadership democratically.

He said that no married person would be able to contest for any post of Chhatra Dal as ‘they are no more students; they have entered in family life.’

Chhatra Dal’s last committee was formed on October 14, 2014, with Rajib Ahsan as its president and Akramul Hasan as general secretary.

BNP leaders, also former leades of Chhatra Dal, Asaduzzaman Ripon, Ruhul Kabir Rizvi, Fazlul Haque Milon, Shahid Uddin Chowdhury Annie, Azizul Bari Helal and ABM Mosharraf Hossain, among others, were present.

The announcement came hours after the BNP expelled 12 senior leaders of Chhatra Dal for their involvement in ‘anti-organisational acts’.

The expelled are —Chhatra Dal’s Dhaka University unit general secretary Bashar Siddique, Dhaka South City unit president Zahir Uddin Tuhin, vice-presidents of the dissolved dissolved central committee Ejmol Hossain Pilot, Ikhtiar Kabir, Jaydeb Joy, and Mamun Billah, its joint-secretaries Asaduzzaman Asad and Bayezid Afrin, assistant general secretary Dabir Uddin Tushar, assistant organising secretaries Golam Azam Saikat and Abdul Malek, and member Azim Patwari, according to a press release signed by BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir.

The 12 leaders were expelled after a group of agitating leaders and activists manhandled the party senior joint secretary general Ruhul Kabir Rizvi on Saturday before a press conference of the dissidents who were on demonstration seeking cancellation of the age limit to contest polls in the next council session.

BNP senior joint secretary general Ruhul Kabir Rizvi in a press release on June 3 announced dissolution of the JCD central committee and formation of the next committee through council session within next 45 days. It also made it mandatory for an individual to pass secondary or equivalent examinations after 2000 for becoming a member in the next committee.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email