Panel unveils ambitious plan

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:00, Apr 26,2019 | Updated: 23:27, Apr 25,2019


AKM Mominul Haque Shaeed-led panel on Thursday has rolled out its election manifesto for Bangladesh Hockey Federation elections, promising an ambitious plan of taking Bangladesh into World Cup in 2026.
‘If we win, we will mainly focus - among all the activities - to prepare the Bangladesh team as one of the World Cup playing teams in 2026,’ said Shaeed, when unveiled the manifesto at a city hotel.
Shaeed also pledged to ‘Save Hockey’ and prepare Bangladesh team to play in the semi-final stage in the 2025 Asian Hockey.
The panel leader Shaeed, who is vying against Abdus Sadeque for secretary post in the election to be held on April 29, vowed to try his best to hold AGM on a regular basis.
In its manifesto, the panel promised to set up two Astro Turfs in two divisional venues on the basis of priority within four years.
Among other promises, it also said to form five commissions – Development, High Performance, Competition, Training and Monitoring, Administration - to run the federation’s activities from grassroots to national level smoothly.
Former Bangladesh Hockey Federation secretary Shamsul Bari and a former secretary general of the Bangladesh Olympic Association Basir Ahmed were also present on the occasion.
The election was originally scheduled to be held on April 8, but the election commissioner postponed it following a High Court rule over the councillorship of Shishu Kishore Sangha representative Taraque A Adil.
Taraque A Adil was allowed to run in the elections as the appellate division on April 23 stayed a High Court that barred him from contesting.
National Sports Council announced the revised election schedule on April 11 and some 12 councillors from Shaeed-led panel withdrew their candidacy from several posts on April 16.
Following their withdrawals, there remained 56 candidates - including one independent vice-president candidate -from two panels to run for 28 posts - five vice-presidents, one secretary, two joint secretaries, one treasurer and 19 executive members.
Shaeed-led panel gave 25 candidates, including 16 executive members, to run in the elections while Sadeque-led panel gave 30 candidates with 21 executive member aspirants.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email