Abahani keep on winning

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:00, Mar 15,2019


Prime Bank batsman Anamul Haque plays a shot during their Dhaka Premier League match against Legends of Rupganj at the BKSP on Thursday.— Courtesy photo

Defending champions Abahani Limited continued their winning run in the Dhaka Premier League thanks to a hard-fought 14-run win over Brothers Union at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Thursday.
All-rounder Mohammad Saifuddin and skipper Mosaddek Hossain struck 59 and 54 runs respectively to guide Abahani to 236-6 before their bowlers sealed their third win in the league by restricting Brothers to 222-8 despite Yasir Ali’s unbeaten 106 off 112 balls.
In a low-scoring thriller at Fatullah, Ziaur Rahman’s all-round heroics propelled Sheikh Jamal Dhamondi Club to a narrow 12-run win over Shinepukur Cricket Club.
Ziaur made crucial 41 runs in Sheikh Jamal’s score of 106 before he picked up 5-23 to help the side bowl out Shinepukur for only 94 runs.
At BKSP, Anamul Haque’s unbeaten 100 off 111 balls powered Prime Bank Cricket Club to a comfortable nine-wicket win over Legends of Rupganj in another third round match.

Abahani v Brothers
Sent into bat first, Abahani found them precariously at 123-5 in the 34th over before Saifuddin and Mosaddek put 51 runs for the sixth wicket to give their innings some respectability.
Despite losing Mosaddek’s wicket, Abahani remained strong in the final overs thanks to Saifuddin, who hit four fours and two sixes in his 45-ball unbeaten innings.
He was also involved in a 62-run seventh wicket stand with Mashrafee bin Murtaza, who hit an unbeaten 26 off 15 balls playing his first match of the league.
In reply, Yasir staged lone battle as he completed his second List-A hundred but the failure of others rendered it useless.
Yasir held one end and struck eight fours and two sixes but they eventually fell short of the target.

Sheikh Jamal v Shinepukur
Sheikh Jamal didn’t get any momentum throughout their innings and despite Ziaur’s 58-ball 41 they were bowled out for little over 100 in 35.1 overs after being asked to bat first.
Shinepukur pacer Sabbir Hossain claimed career-best 4-28 while another pacer Shoriful Islam bagged finished with 3-20.
In reply, Shinepukur batters had to face the wrath of pace bowling duo Ziaur and Salauddin Sakil (4-21) as the pair shared nine wickets to skittle out the side in just 29 overs, giving Jamal maiden win of the campaign.

Prime Bank v Rupganj
Mohammad Naim and Jaker Ali made 52 and 47 runs respectively but Prime Bank bowlers made regular strikes to fold Rupganj for 163 in 46.1 overs.
Anamul and Rubel Mia later shared 125-run in the opening stand to put Prime Bank on course to an easy win.
Rubel was dismissed for 44 by Nabil Samad but Anamul went on to complete his 10th List-A hundred to finish the job.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email