Independence Award 2019 declared for 13 persons

Staff Correspondent | Published: 16:42, Mar 10,2019 | Updated: 00:54, Mar 11,2019


The government has selected 12 eminent persons and one organisation for the Independence Award 2019 for their outstanding contribution to the nation.
Martyred intellectual Mofazzal Haydar Chowdhury (posthumous), martyred freedom fighter and Dhaka University student ATM Jafar Alam (posthumous), liberation war affairs minister AKM Mozammel Haque, former housing minister and Awami League MP Mosharraf Hossain, doctor Kazi Misbahun Nahar, first inspector general of Bangladesh police Abdul Khaleque (posthumous) and one of the constitution framers Mohammad Khaled (posthumous) were named for the highest civilian award for their contributions during the liberation war, said a press release of the Cabinet Division issued on Sunday.
Brigadier General Nurunnahar Fatema Begum was selected for the award for her contribution in medical science, economist Qazi Kholiquzzaman Ahmad for social service, painter and writer Murtaja Baseer for culture, writer Hasan Azizul Haque for literature, geneticist Professor Hasina Khan for research and training and Bangladesh Institute of Nuclear Agriculture for science and technology, according to the release.
Prime minister Sheikh Hasina is expected to hand over the award at a function at Bangabandhu International Convention Centre on March 25, said the press

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email