BNP declares final candidates for 206 seats

Rashed Ahmed Mitul | Published: 00:00, Dec 08,2018 | Updated: 02:27, Dec 08,2018


Main opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party on Friday declared names of its final candidates for 206 seats out of 300 constituencies for contesting the upcoming parliamentary polls scheduled for December 30.
Candidates for the rest 94 seats were kept for those BNP aspirants whose appeal with the Election Commission were still pending and for components of BNP-led alliance and Jatiya Oikya Front.
The candidature for the 94 seats will be declared today.
BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir at a news conference at the party chairperson Khaleda Zia’s Gulshan office announced the names of 206 of the party’s final candidates in the evening.
He said as appeals of several BNP candidates still remained pending, and seat sharing with the components of the BNP-led 20-party alliance and that of Jatiya Oikya Front were not finalised, the names of candidates for all 300 seats were not declared on Friday.
Fakhrul, who got nomination for Thakurgaon-1, said names of the rest of the candidates against 94 seats would be declared today.
BNP may leave about 70 seats for its allies in 20-party alliance and Jatiay Oikya Front.
No names were announced in nine seats in Dhaka out of 20 seats.
BNP might spare seats for its allies in two alliances in constituencies in Dhaka, Tangail, Satkhira, Hobiganj, Bogura, Rangpur, Jashore, Pabna, Sirajganj, Chittagong, Lakshmipur, Cumilla, , Narail and Pirojpur.
BNP’s nominations went mostly to former lawmakers.
A number of new and young faces, top leaders of BNP’s front organisation, former student leaders and sons, wives of BNP senior leaders received nominations.
Besides, leaders known as reformists for their role against the party during the army-backed caretaker government between 2007-08 and were either expelled from or remained inactive in the party, received nominations as they recently came back to the party and their expulsion orders were withdrawn.
They include Alamgir Kabir in Naogion 6, Abu Hena in Rajshahi 4,  Zahiruddin Swapan in Barishal 1, Nazir Hossain in Sunamganj 1, Mofiqul Hasan Tripti in Jashore 1,  GM Siraj in Bogra 5 and Sardar Sakhawat Hossain Bakul in Narsingdi 4. 
Family members of the party’s leaders got nominations including Naushad Zamir, son of standing committee member Jamiruddin Sircar, in Panchagarh 1, Anindya Islam Amit, son of late standing committee member Tariqul Islam, in Jashore 3, Shah Riazul Hannan, son of late standing committee member ASM Hannan Shah, in Gazipur 4, Irfan-bin-Aman, son of BNP chairperson’s advisory council member Aman Ullah Aman, in Dhaka 2 and M Naser Rahman, son of late BNP’s former finance minister M Saifur Rahman in Molvibazar-3 .
BNP picked nine women most of them spouse and daughters of the BNP leaders they are Hasina Ahmed, wife of standing committee member, Salahuddin Ahmed in Cox’sbazar-1, Kamrun Nahar Shirin wife of late Fazlur Rahman Patal  in Natore-1, Sabina Yasmin, wife of Ruhul Quddus Talukdar Dulu in Natore-2, Shamim Ara Begum wife of BNP Dhaka city north unit president M Qauyum Chowdhury in Dhaka-11, Tahmina Zaman wife of former state minister for home Lutffar Rahman Babar, Shama Obaed, daughter of late KM Obaidur Rahman in Faridpur-2, Sansila Zebrin daughter of local BNP leader Hazrat Ali in Sherpur-1, Zeba Amin Khan in Jhalokathi-2 and singer Rumana Morshed Kanokchapa in Sirajganj-1 seat.
Former Mahila Dal leader Yasmin, also BNP national executive committee member, an aspirant for Kushtia-2 at Khaleda’s Gulshan office expressed grievances over the fact that no member of Mohila Dal, BNP’s women wing, got nomination, instead wives and daughters of BNP leaders were given tickets.
Six leaders of religious and ethnic minorities got nominations for contesting the polls.
They are Goyeshwar Chandra Roy in Dhaka 3, Nitai Roy Chowdhury in Magura 2, Goutam Chakravarty in Tangail 6, Milton Boidya, Moni Swapan Dewan in Rangamati and Sachin Prue Jerry in Bandarban.
Current and former leaders of BNP’s front and associate organisations including incumbent Juba Dal president Saiful Alam Nirob, general secretary Sultan Salahuddin Tuku, former Chhatradal president Azizul Bari Helal, former general secretary Amirul Islam Khan, former senior vice-president Shahidul Islam Babul, former Chhatradal Dhaka University leader Saiful Alam Firoz got party tickets.
Supporters of the nomination deprived leaders staged demonstration in front of Khaleda Zia’s Gulshan office after declaration of the names of the party candidates.
Milima Islam Biswas, daughter of Wahidul Islam Biswas, who was elected for more than once from Chuadanga 1, loudly expressed her anger over awarding of nomination to a ‘hundi trader’ instead of her father in the seat and also for depriving several other popular leaders.
Similarly principal Suhrabuddin, former lawmaker from Kushtia 3, lamented for not getting the party ticket since a ‘businessman’ has replaced him, who has no rapport with the locals.
The leaders who failed to get nominations include BNP vice-chairman Shamsuzzaman Dudu.
Standing committee member Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain got nominations in two seats — Cumilla 1 and Cumilla 2.
Former lawmakers and BNP senior leaders who got nominations include Moudud Ahmed, Mirza Abbas, Abdul Moyeen Khan, Amir Khosru Mahmud Chowdhury, Shah Moazzem Hossain, Aminul Haque, Mizanur Rahman Sinha, Abdullah Al Noman, M Shahjahan, Barkat Ullah Bulu, Zainul Abdin Farroque, Abul Khaer Bhuiyan Shahiduddin Chowdhury Annie, Najimuddin Alam, Asadul Habib Dulu, Mohammad Shahjahan Mia, Harun-or-Rashid and Abul Kalam Azad
Around 696 candidates of BNP had submitted nomination papers against 295 seats out of a total of 300 seats.
The last date of withdrawal of nomination paper is December 9.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email