Rajshahi claims sixth NCL title

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:00, Nov 09,2018


Rajshahi players celebrate with the 20th National Cricket League title after their win over Barishal at Rajshahi on Thursday.— Courtesy photo

Rajshahi Division claimed their sixth National Cricket League title when they defeated Barishal by six wickets in the final round thanks to an unbeaten century of opener Junaed Siddique on the final day on Thursday.
Rangpur and holders Khulna both survived in top-tier after a draw in Bogura as the title holders while Barishal have been relegated.
Dhaka Division were promoted to top-tier after drawing with Sylhet in Cox’s Bazar while Dhaka Metropolis and Chattogram also setteled for a draw in a separate ground in the beach town.

Rajshahi v Barishal
Rajshahi, who needed only 102 runs to win, started positively on the final day as their overnight unbeaten batsmen Junaed and Jahurul Islam guided them to cross 250-run mark after they resumed on 182-2.
Skipper Jahurul was dismissed by Mosaddek Hossain on 64 after the pair added 149 runs for the third wicket while Farhad Hossain (four) soon followed.
However experienced Junaed remained firm at the crease and completed his 15th first-class ton and remained unbeaten on 120 off 181 balls to help Rajshahi reach 284-4 and regain their title after six seasons.

Rangpur v Khulna
Fifties from Ziaur Rahman and Moinul Islam lifted Khulna on the final day as they set a target of 295 runs for Rangpur after resuming on 192-6.
Moinul struck 55 off 87 while Ziaur made 52 off 71 as the pair added 98 runs for the seventh wicket before Khulna’s second innings finally came to an end on 282 runs.
Tanvir Hayder bagged three wickets while Sohrawardi Shuvo, Mahmudul Hasan and Rabiul Haque claimed two wickets each for Rangpur.
Rangpur openers Rakin Ahmed and Mehedi Maruf provided a strong start as the pair scored 104 runs in the opening stand before Maruf was dismissed on 50.
Rakin struck 74 off 109 balls but Rangpur only managed to reach 184-6 at stumps of the four-day contest which resulted in a draw.
Mahedi Hasan of Khulna chipped in with 3-17.

Dhaka v Sylhet
Resuming an overnight score of 102-4, Sylhet lost their nightwatchman Enamul Haque Jnr (five) very early on the fourth day but experienced Rajin Saleh, who was playing his last first-class innings continued to trouble Dhaka bowlers.
Rajin, who made 67 runs in the first innings, added 72 runs with Jaker Ali for the sixth wicket before he fell 13 runs short to a well-deserved hundred in his first-class swansong.
Rajin made 87 off 224 balls before Shuvagata Hom dismissed the former Bangladesh skipper.
Jaker then made an unbeaten 122-run stand with Shahanur Rahman to take Sylhet to 303-6 before both the teams agreed for a draw.
Jaker remained unbeaten on 77 off 178 balls while Shahanur was not out on 70 off 136 balls.

Metro v Chattogram
Resuming on 96-3, both the unbeaten batsmen Shamsur Rahman and Mohammad Ashraful continued to frustrate Chattogram bowlers as they put up 101 runs for the fourth wicket for Metro.
Ashraful was finally dismissed on 43 but Shamsur remained firm as completed his 15th first-class ton before he was run out on 121 off 173 balls.
Metro declared their second innings on 261-6, setting up a target of 245 runs for Chattogram but Chattogram could reach 142-4 by the end of the final day’s play – resulting in a dull end to the contest.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email