Six awarded as short, docu film festival ends

Cultural Correspondent | Published: 21:43, Oct 09,2016


The nationwide Bangladesh Short and Documentary Film Festival 2016 ended on Saturday at the auditorium of National Art Gallery of Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy, with six participating filmmakers awarded in different categories.
Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy organised the festival in association with the Federation of Film Societies of Bangladesh, Bangladesh Short Film Forum and Bangladesh Documentary Council.
The weeklong event, which began on October 2, featured 84 films including 35 shorts and 29 documentaries that were selected for screening after an open call for entries. There were also 20 old short and documentary films.
The films were screened simultaneously at all district branches of the academy and its headquarters in Dhaka.
At the concluding ceremony on Saturday, three awards were given in each of the two categories – Best Film, Best Filmmaker and Special Jury Awards.
In the short segment, Mohammad Abid Mollick received the Best Film Award for Poth, Sadat Hossain received the Best Director Award for The Shoes, and Mohammad Mamunur Rashid Srabon got the Special Jury Award for his film Matir Moyna.
In the documentary segment, Mokbul Chowdhury got the Best Film Award for Not A Penny Not A Gun, while Farzana Boby bagged the Best Director Award for her documentary Bish Kaata. Fouzia Khan received a Special Jury Award for her documentary Je Golper Shesh Nei.
Each Best Film Award came with a cheque for Tk 100,000, a crest and a certificate, while the recipients of Best Director Award got a cheque for Tk 50,000, a crest and a certificate each. The nonmonetary Special Jury Award, on the other hand, consisted of a certificate and a crest.
The awards were handed over by the commerce minister Tofail Ahmed. Among others, the cultural affairs ministry’s secretary Begum Akhteri Mumtaz, cultural personality Mafidul Haque, film researcher Fahmidul Haque, FFSB president Lailun Nahar Shemmy and Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy secretary Jahangir Hossain Chowdhury were also present.
Liaquat Ali Lucky, director general of the academy, presided over the ceremony.
The festival was dedicated to the recently demised poet-playwright Syed Shamsul Haq.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email