Bangladesh squad for Asia Cup named

Staff Correspondent | Published: 17:03, Aug 30,2018 | Updated: 17:07, Aug 30,2018


The Bangladesh Cricket Board on Thursday announced a 15-member squad led by Mashrafee bin Murtaza for the forthcoming Asia Cup, scheduled to be held United Arab Emirates from September 15-28.

Batsman Sabbir Rahman, Anamul Haque and pacer Abu Jayed who were part of the three-match one-day international series against West Indies were axed from the Asia Cup squad.

Wicketkeeper batsman Mohammad Mithun and middle-order batsman Ariful Haque were included in the squad.

All-rounder Sakib al Hasan retained his place in the squad as the 31-year old cricketer will undergo surgery after the end of the tournament.

The Tigers will leave Dhaka on September 9.

Bangladesh will play Sri Lanka in the opening match of the six-nation tournament at Dubai on September 15.

Squad: Masrafee bin Murtaza (Captain), Sakib Al Hasan (Vice-Captain),Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Ariful Haque, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Nazmul Hossain, Mehedi Hasan, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman and Abu Haider.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email