10 journos get Tourism Fellowship 2018

United News of Bangladesh | Published: 13:04, Aug 14,2018


Ten journalists from print, electronic media and news agency have been awarded Tourism Fellowship 2018 for their significant contributions to the development of tourism sector and encouraging others to help policymakers taking the proper steps through objective reporting on the growing sector.

Bangladesh Tourism Board and Aviation and Tourism Journalists’ Forum of Bangladesh jointly arranged the fellowship.

Acting secretary of Civil Aviation and Tourism Ministry M Mohibul Haque handed over the certificates and cheques (Tk 60,000 each) at a function at the Jatiya Press Club in the city on Tuesday.

The fellowship recipients are AKM Moinuddin (UNB), Masud Rumi (Daily Kaler Kantho), Jamal Uddin (Daily Ittefaq), Altaf Hossain (Daily Samokal), Emrul Kawser Emon  (Daily Bhorer Dak), Tawhidul Islam (Bhorer Dak), Ziaul Haq Sabuj (Bangla Vision), Imtiaz Ahmed (Somoy TV), Dinar Sultana (BTV) and Farhana Neela (Mohona TV).

BTB chief executive officer M Jahangir Hossain, The Bangladesh Monitor editor Kazi Wahidul Alam, Tour Operators Association of Bangladesh director Taufiq Rahman, deputy manager (PR) Bangladesh Tourism Board Akhtar Ahamed, ATJFB president Nadira Kiran and general secretary Tanzim Anwar, among others, spoke at the programme.

They appreciated the journalists’ efforts in unfolding both achievements and lacking in the country’s tourism sector through their reporting.

The speakers acknowledged the reporting will help the government to take proper policy initiatives.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email