Joseph reprimanded after Anamul send off

Staff Correspondent | Published: 17:29, Jul 26,2018

 
 

A file photo shows West Indies pacer Alzarri Joseph leaving the ground at the end of an ODI match. — ICC photo

The International Cricket Council on Thursday reprimanded West Indies pacer Alzarri Joseph and awarded him one demerit point after he was found guilty of breaching code of conduct during the his side’s second one-day international against Bangladesh in Guyana.

Joseph was found guilty after his send off to Bangladesh opener Anamul Haque after he dismissed the batsman in the third ball of the third over in Bangladesh’s innings.

Anamul got off to a flying start before he was bowled out by pacer for 23 off nine balls.

Match referee Chris Broad found him guilty of breaching the code related to ‘using language, actions or gestures.

The 21-year old pacer admitted the offence after the match and accepted the sanction proposed by Broad.

Bangladesh fell three runs short of West Indies’ 271 in the match and they were restricted to 268-6 to level the series 1-1.

 

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email

Advertisement

images

 

Advertisement

images