PM distributes National Film Award

United News of Bangladesh . Dhaka | Published: 00:01, Jul 09,2018


Prime minister Sheikh Hasina and other guests pose for a photograph with recipients of National Film Award 2016 at Bangabandhu International Convention Centre in Dhaka on Sunday.— BSS photo

Prime minister Sheikh Hasina on Sunday distributed the National Film Award-2016 among artistes and film professionals in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the country’s film industry.
She handed over the award, the highest state recognition, to 31 artistes, performers and organisations in 25 categories at a gala ceremony at Bangabandhu International Conference Centre in the afternoon.
Information minister Hasanul Haq Inu presided over the function while chairman of the parliamentary standing committee on the ministry AKM Rahmatullah, state minister Tarana Halim and information secretary Abdul Malek were present.
Film actress Farida Akter Babita and film actor Akbar Hossein Pathan (Faruk) were given lifetime achievement award while award for best film went to ‘Oggatonama’ (The Unnamed) produced by Faridur Reza Sagor and best film director award to filmmaker Amitabh Reza Chowdhury (Aynabaji film).
Chanchal Chowdhury was awarded as best actor (Aynabaji film) while Afroza Imrose Tisha (Ostitto film) and Kusum Sikder (Shongkhochil) best actresses (jointly).
Best short film producer award went to SM Kamrul Ahsan (Gran) while that of best documentary film producer to Ekattur Media Limited and Liberation War Museum (Janmasathi documentary).
Best supporting actors are Ali Raj (Pure Jay Mon) and Fazlur Rahman Babu (Meyeti Ekhon Kothay Jabe) while best side actress is Tania Ahmed (Krishno Pokkho), best villain Shahiduzzaman Selim (Oggatonama), best child actor Anum Rahman Khan (Shongkhochil), best music director Emon Saha (Meyeti Ekhon Kothay Jabe), best singer Wakil Ahmed (Darpan Bisorjon), best singer female Meher Afroz Shaon (Krishno Pokkho), best composer Gazi Mazharul Anwar (Meyeti Ekhon Kothay Jabe), best lyricist Emon Saha (Meyeti Ekhon Kothay Jabe), best storywriter Tauquir Ahmed (Oggatonama), best cinematographers Anom Biswas and Gausul Azam (Aynabaji), best scriptwriter Syeda Rubaiyat Hossain (Under Construction), best editor Iqbal Ahsanul Kabir (Aynabaji), best art director Uttam Guho (Shongkhochil), best photographer Rashed Zaman (Aynabaji), best sound director Ripon Nath (Aynabaji), best costume and decoration Md Abdus Sattar and Farzana San and best makeup man Manik (Under Construction).
Speaking on the occasion, the prime minister stressed the need for making world-class films to keep the country’s ongoing development pace in all the sectors. ‘Today Bangladesh is marching forward in all the sectors. I want our film industry to develop further,’ she said.
‘Being a victorious nation, we want to move ahead keeping the head high. We don’t want to lag behind in any sector...we especially want our film industry to produce world-class films so that we can march forward,’ she added.
Sheikh Hasina said her government will do whatever needed for the development of the film industry.
Terming movie as the reflection of public life, she said a film can play a big role in social reform.
The prime minister suggested that films should be more modern with the use of advanced technology.
Mentioning that Bangladesh is now a digital country which sent satellite Bangabandhu-1 into the orbit, she suggested the use of digital system in the film industry and modern presentation of movies. ‘We should make more high quality films and thus keep a bigger role in reforming the society,’ said the prime minister. 

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email