I’m happy with what I’m, says Ataur Rahman

Staff Correspondent | Published: 16:46, Jun 18,2018 | Updated: 19:04, Jun 18,2018


Celebrated actor-director Ataur Rahman on his 77th anniversary of birth, observed on Monday, said he is happy with his life and he has no complains.

The Ekushey Padak winner Ataur, who was conferred on Manchasarathi title by theatre activists, said he is satisfied with the achievements of his long artistic career spanning over four decades.

‘Though I was born in an ordinary family, I achieved a lot in my life through my works,’ Ataur told New Age.

Born on June 18, 1941 in Noakhali, Ataur completed his master degree in soil science from the University of Dhaka in 1964.

Subsequently, he began theatre activities and founded one of the most popular theatre troupes in the country Nagorik Natya Sampradaya in 1968.

He is the founding general secretary of the troupe and is still holding the post.

Ataur as a theatre director got popularity directing classic plays by famous playwrights like William Shakespeare, Rabindrannath Tagore, Samuel Beckett, Syed Shamsul Haque, Sayeed Ahmed and others.

‘Hamlet’, ‘Raktakarabi’, ‘Waiting for Godot’, ‘Galileo’, ‘Shajahan’, ‘Irsha’ and ‘Mile Post’ are the titles of a few critically analysed plays directed by Ataur.

Ataur has also been acting in films and TV productions for many years.

‘I acted in the role of King Oedipus in the TV production Sophocles’ Oedipus in 1969,’ said Ataur, adding that the production was directed by Zia Hyder and produced by Mustafa Monwar.  

‘I enjoyed acting in the role of zamindar in Humayun Ahmed’s play Hablonger Bazaar,’ he said.

‘Jhut Jhamela’, ‘Neelpania’ are titles of some teleplays and serials starring Ataur in diverse characters.

He also acted in Tanvir Mokammel’s Hulia, Morshedul Islam’s Chaka and several other art house films, Ataur said.

Ataur Rahman served as the general secretary and later president of International Theatre Institute’s Bangladesh Centre. He is also a former chairman of Bangladesh Group Theatre Federation.

He received the Ekushey Padak in 2001.


More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email