Afghanistan confirms Tigers date

Staff Correspondent | Published: 21:54, May 09,2018


The Afghanistan Cricket Board on Wednesday announced the fixture of the three-match Twenty20 series against Bangladesh scheduled to be held in Dehradun, India next month.

The first of the three-match Twenty20 series will take place on June 3 while the rest two matches will be held on June 5 and 7 respectively at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium.

All the three matches will be day-night encounters and the matches will start at 8:30pm Bangladesh Standard Time.

ACB chairman Atif Mashal was delighted with the series and claimed that the series would be a good opportunity for both the sides.

‘ACB is delighted to host Bangladesh for the T20I series in Dehradun in early June which will be a good opportunity for both sides to play competitive cricket,’ he was quoted at the website of Afghanistan Cricket Board.

‘Similarly, cricket fans have also previously enjoyed games between the two sides and this will be yet another opportunity for them to witness their sides play against each other,’ he added.

BCB chief execute officer Nizam Uddin Chowdhury was also hopeful to have a competitive series between the two sub-continental sides.

‘This promises to be a very competitive series,’ he was quoted in the same website.

Bangladesh and Afghanistan have faced each other only once in a Twenty20 international match in 2014 ICC World Twenty20 and the Tigers won the match comprehensively.

Afghanistan are currently ranked 8th while Bangladesh are ranked 10th in the ICC T20I team rankings.       

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email