12 writers get Bangla Academy award 2017

Staff Correspondent | Published: 01:10, Jan 28,2018 | Updated: 01:20, Jan 28,2018


Twelve writers were selected for the Bangla Academy Shahitya Purashkar 2017 for their outstanding contributions to respective field of literature.
Bangla Academy director general Shamsuzzaman Khan on Saturday announced the names at a press briefing at Shaheed Muneer Chowdhury conference room of the academy.
The award recipients are —Muhammad Sadiq and Maruful Islam for poetry; Mamun Hossain for prose; Mahbubul Haque for essay; Rafiqullah Khan for research; Aminul Islam Bhuiyan for translation; Quamrul Islam Bhuiyan and Surma Zahid for literature on liberation war; Shakoor Majid for travelogue; Malay Bhaumick for drama; Mushtaq Ahmed for science fiction and Jharna Das Purakayastha for children’s literature.
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will hand the awards to the recipients in the inaugural session of the upcoming Amar Ekushey Book Fair on February 1.
Each recipient of the Bangla Academy Shahitya Puroshkar would get Taka 1 lakh cash, a crest and a certificate.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email