Two more int'l standard cricket stadiums to be built: Biren

Staff correspondent | Published: 19:59, Oct 03,2016


The youth and sports minister, Shri Biren Sikder, on Monday said the government has a plan to built two new international standard cricket stadiums at Purbachal in Dhaka and Manikganj.

The state minister disclosed this in the Jatiya Sangsad while replying to a scripted question from treasury bench member Didarul Alam of Chittagong-4.

To improve the infrastructures of sports facilities, the government is going to built one mini-stadium for each upazila, Biren said.

The government had floated tenders for building mini-stadium at 131 upazilas, he added.

At present, there are seven international standard cricket stadium in the country now. They are Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium in capital, Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Narayanganj, MA Aziz Stadium and Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong, Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogra, Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium in Khulna and Sylhet Divisional Stadium.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email