BRAC Univ forms inquiry committee

Staff Correspondent | Published: 19:37, Aug 01,2017


BRAC University authorities on Tuesday afternoon formed a five member inquiry committee to investigate what led students to take street.

BRAC University students since Monday morning went out on demonstration demanding punishment of officials, who had reportedly ‘assaulted’ university law teacher Farhaan Uddin Ahmed on Sunday.

A BRAC University statement uploaded on its website about 5:00pm said that in light of the recent incident at BRAC University, an inquiry committee comprising five members has been formed to investigate the incident and matters that led to the incident.

 The committee was asked to submit a report within seven working days from August 2, 2017.

‘BRAC University wants to conclude this episode expeditiously and fairly. We hope all concerned will come together and extend their full cooperation’ the statement said.

The inquire committee members are mathematics and natural sciences chairman AFM Yusuf Haider, architecture department chairman Adnan Morshed and James P Grant School of Public Health teacher Malabika Sarker, two other members would be one student representative and one alumni representative.

BRAC University students on Tuesday continue their demonstration demanding punishment of officials, who had reportedly ‘assaulted’ one of their teachers.

Students also demanded formation of probe committee comprising representative of current and former students in order to investigate the assault on law teacher Farhaan Uddin Ahmed.

The agitating students of BRAC University and Farhaan Uddin Ahmed take position at in front of the building that house its vice-chancellor’s office.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email